50. Visit from Germany & Grouse shenanigans

North Vancouver, Canada, 29.07.2017.

Much has happened in the last two weeks. I have seen great new places, revisited old places, tried out new things and enjoyed the company of a good old friend. And before I lose track of what has happened when and with whom, it is now time to write another blog entry about the recent events.

About two weeks ago, Emilia and I decided to do some more hiking together. This time, we went up to Squamish and hiked up to peak one and two of the Stawamus Chief. The weather was beautiful and the hike with its roughly 600m of elevation change is absolutely worth doing. At both of the peaks we were rewarded with great views of the stunning landscape and the city below us. We hiked the Chief on a Saturday which was probably not the brightest of all ideas since it was really crowded. Anyway, we still found a parking spot and it was not as bad as hiking Quarry Rock on a sunny weekend so I guess I should not complain too much about that.

Howe Sound
View from peak one onto Howe Sound.
Peak2
View from peak one onto peak two.

A few days after the Chief hike, Martin from Germany visited me in Vancouver. Yes, he is the one who missed our army get-together when I was back in Germany briefly at the end of June. We spent a few days together in and around Vancouver and had a great time hiking Mount Seymour again and checking out stuff in the city. When we hiked Mount Seymour, there was far less snow than when I had been there for the first time. However, less snow means more water ponds and more breading grounds for flies and mosquitos next to the trail. Let’s put it this way: At some spots along the way, it was quite annoying to constantly fend off the bugs while trying to stay on trail. When we made it to peak one, we met another hiker, Paul, and rested a little together. While chatting along, a plane made a really close fly-by to greet us. Nice gesture and kudos to the brave pilot! After a while, Martin and I made our way up to peak two to see if it would be possible to actually conquer Mount Seymour that day. It already looked a lot better than last time I was there but there was still too much snow around and the slope also still looked a bit treacherous and sketchy so we decided to not take the gamble that day. But be warned, Mount Seymour, I will be coming back for you!!!! 🙂

Brockton-point
Half way up: At Brockton Point!
Plane1
Plane approaching us at peak one. In the background: Skyline Vancouver.
Plane2
A close fly-by to greet us! 🙂
Mount-Seymour
Way up to Mount Seymour: Probably doable but still a little bit too sketchy.

Of course, Martin and I also spent some time in the city and I wanted to introduce him to one of the typical Canadian drinks: the Cesars. So we decided to go for the Cesar’s Checkmate in the “Score on Davie” and have a great drink/food experience in Vancouver’s West End. However, before we got the food/drink, the apparently very young looking waitress asked us for our IDs to make sure we were 19 or older. Funny thing which hasn’t happened to me in quite a long time. 🙂 I was about to jokingly ask her for her ID first to make sure she was old enough to actually serve alcohol but then I refrained from doing so because I did not want to embarrass her. 🙂

Cesars-Checkmate
Martin checking out our “drink”. 🙂

Last Friday, Martin returned to Germany and from what he told me, he was also impressed by this great country. I have not yet met anyone who left Canada without great impressions and a good feeling. This country is just amazing!!! 🙂

You may have realized that in many of my previous running- pictures I wore that branded yellow “Lidl”- Shirt which was provided by my previous employer. Although this shirt is a great running shirt, I felt that it was time to get a new shirt which more accurately reflects my current situation here in Canada. Unfortunately, my current employer, the BC Liquor Stores, does not sponsor sport events so they don’t have any T-Shirts to give away to runners in the company. Thus, I chose to design my own Shirt and get it printed so I have something new and unique to wear during the next marathons. It’s not a real “running shirt” because it is plain cotton but there were no other shirts/fabrics I could have chosen from so I had to go with this. Here it is:

T-Shirt1
Front.
T-Shirt2
Back.

Talking about marathons. Last weekend, I was supposed to run in the Kamloops marathon but it was cancelled due to poor air quality and smoke caused by the wildfires nearby. Really sad because I am always up for a good run and I would have loved to go back to Kamloops for that race.  So instead of doing the marathon, I decided to continue working on my mountain running skills and went to the Grouse Grind to wreck myself. Last monday, I did the Grind again and finished in 45 minutes which was not considerably faster than the first two times I had done that hike/run. However, I know that I need to focus on endurance rather than speed so I decided to just do the Grind a second time and see how much slower I would be in comparison to the first time. With 48 minutes, I was only roughly 3 minutes slower than the first time. After the second Grind, I wondered if I would be able to do it a third time in a row without experiencing any cramps. Now the third time wasn’t so much fun anymore but I still managed to finish in 50 minutes without any cramps. Which is a good sign because the “hike” (it’s actually more of a constant stair-climbing) is quite straining for the legs. Now I could have probably done the Grind a forth time on that day but I began to get hungry and it just did not feel right so I decided to call it a day and drive home.

Grouse- Log
Official timing stats of my Grinds. My very first Grind (46 minutes) is missing.

In a nutshell, this is what happened on that day:

Overall time of the training session: 3 hours, 05 minutes, 05 seconds.
Time on the trail: 2 hours, 23 minutes, 39 seconds.
Breaks in between (mostly gondola- rides): 41 minutes, 26 seconds.
Elevation gain: 2559 meters
Number of stairs: 8490
Hiking distance: 8.7 kilometers

I really liked this experience and I think I will do this kind of training again in the future to prepare myself for the upcoming races. The Finlayson Arm 50K race in September has quite the interesting elevation profile with a gain of roughly 3070 meters overall. So if I keep running up the Grouse Grind and Mount Seymour some more, that should help me to actually master this Ultra race as well. But we’ll see about that in a few weeks….

Time to conclude this blog entry with yet another piece of music you will probably not know. It is a raw beat (instrumental) that was used by two battle- rappers to “front” each other some years ago. Very relaxing “song” to listen to while relaxing at the beach. Try it!

Beatjunkie Rato – Antarktika

Author: Ralf

Passionate Canada -Visitor and -Lover. Ex- Army Officer and Retail Manager. Long distance runner, climber, hiker, fan of all kinds of games and animal friend. Loves music but has a weird taste: British Metal, German Gangsta-Rap, some Dance-pieces (mostly 90s), non- lyric beats and most Rock/Punk- music.

Leave a Reply

