43. Red Deer Marathon

Olds (Alberta), Canada, 22.05.2017.

Day one after my second marathon in two weeks. This time, I don’t have to work but I can chill at Jo Anne’s and Doug’s house and rest my legs and feet a little. The weather is beautiful and after having written this blog entry, I will definitely go outside and relax a bit in the nearby park. Such a blessing to have a long weekend off. One of the many upsides of my new job as a Senior Store Manager. 🙂

So yesterday I did my second marathon in two weeks and it felt totally different than the first one I did in Vancouver. But let’s stick to the bare facts first before going into detail. I finished in 3:29, which is a bit slower than my 3:27 finish in Vancouver. However, I still managed to be quicker than 3:30 so the pace was a little better than 5:00 minutes per kilometer. Interestingly, I finished the first 21.1 Km in 1:39 whereas my second 21.1 Km were a lot slower with 1:50. This indicates that my time management could have been better in this race. Bearing in mind that the circumstances of the run were not ideal, I am very satisfied with the outcome. So what about the circumstances of the run? Well, first of all my legs and my feet were still not fully regenerated from the last marathon. And secondly, I made the mistake to do a longer and quite intensive run last Thursday and it felt like I should not have done that prior to the marathon. Anyway, I knew beforehand that my body condition could be an issue in this endeavour and I factored that in. And what about the race course and the weather yesterday? Well, I think that yesterday’s course was not particularly demanding but it was still a bit more difficult than the really convenient course in Vancouver. And the same goes for the weather. Generally, it was lovely yesterday but it got annoying when the sun became really strong and I had to run without any shadow for longer periods. In the end I was fortunate to not get a sun burn but I could feel the skin on my face stretching in the evening. Overall, the conditions of the run were quite good but not as ideal as in Vancouver two weeks ago.

Marathon1
Runners already lined up at the start line before the start of the race.
Marathon3
At the end of the field: My preferred starting position.

The run itself was a lot more strenuous than the Vancouver marathon and it cost me a lot of effort to maintain my pace throughout the race. While I was still doing absolutely fine after 21.1 Km in the Vancouver race, I already felt leg pain yesterday just after the first 6 Km. So basically, yesterday’s run was all about taking the pain and fighting throughout the race. That is why it wasn’t nearly as enjoyable as the Vancouver run. Another thing that really bugged me was the fact that I had to run alone for a long part of the race. During the Vancouver run I always had other runners in front of me and I could motivate myself to catch every single one of them. But yesterday, there were not nearly as many runners than in the Vancouver run. So after a few kilometers I had noone in front of me anymore and I had to run against the clock. Personally, I think that this is a big psychological disadvantage and it takes a lot of discipline to keep yourself pushing forward although there is noone to catch up to. Then, if you add constantly aching muscles to that equation, you can imagine how hard it is not to slow down involuntarily. Anyway, I don’t want to complain about anything here because it was still a good run and a great experience to me. And also a good training for the Canadian Death Race that I might do in 2018.

Finish
Unfortunately, there was no mascot at the race this year….
Barbecue
Better weather for the barbeque than last year, that’s for sure!
Marathon4
Chillout- area after the race.

After the race, I rested a little while and stocked up on water and fruits. Although they had a free barbeque- stand again, I did not feel like eating a burger after the race. Also, I felt a little dizzy after the race, possibly because I had been in the sun for most of the time. When I felt good again after a few minutes, I got into my car and drove to Jo Anne’s and Doug’s place to chill out for the rest of the day. And since I also had the Monday and the Tuesday off, I could still rest today (Monday) and postpone my drive back to Vancouver to Tuesday.  Better situation than having to work on the day after the race, that’s for sure. 🙂 However, my legs already feel good again and there is only one real blister at my feet so walking is not a problem at all in the moment. It is a little disturbing though that the upper parts of both of my feet seem to be a little swollen and it still hurts when I apply pressure to the largest of the foot bones. I hope this is nothing serious but I guess I will find out more about that in a few days…

Now what is the plan for the future, which major races will I possibly do in the next months? Well, this is my current calendar:

Langley Half Marathon, 21.01.2017:    1:51
Vancouver Marathon, 07.05.2017:        3:27
Red Deer Marathon, 21.05.2017:           3:29
30K race, Whistler, 03.06.2017:             attendance depending on recovery of feet
Marathon Kamloops, 23.07.2017:         possibly
Half Marathon Vancouver, 12.08.17:   probably not
50K trail race, Squamish 19.08.17:       very likely
Marathon Texada Island, 27.08.17:      probably not if I run the 50K in Squamish
Marathon Richmond, 01.10.17:             very likely
Kelowna Marathon, 07.10.17:               probably not
Okanagan Marathon, 08.10.17:             probably not
80K race, Whistler, 14.10.17:                very likely but dependent on my training status
Marathon North VAN, 28.10.17:           unlikely if I attend the 80K race at Whistler
Marathon, Delta, 05.11.17:                    possibly
Marathon Seattle, 26.11.17:                   maybe, depending on the weather
Half Marathon, Vancouver, 26.11.17:  alternative if I don’t go to Seattle

The two highlights in this race calendar are the 50K race in Squamish and the 80K race in Whistler. Now that I feel pretty confident with doing marathons, I might as well try longer distances and these two races offer me the opportunity to just do that. However, I have not yet finally decided which of these races I will do. Since I don’t know how I will have to work on the weekends and how I will feel after the previous races, I will probably decide on doing a certain race just shortly before it takes place.

Now I feel I have written enough about running and races and it is time to conclude this blog entry with my usual music advice, enjoy:

Offspring – Original Prankster

Author: Ralf

Passionate Canada -Visitor and -Lover. Ex- Army Officer and Retail Manager. Long distance runner, climber, hiker, fan of all kinds of games and animal friend. Loves music but has a weird taste: British Metal, German Gangsta-Rap, some Dance-pieces (mostly 90s), non- lyric beats and most Rock/Punk- music.

Leave a Reply

