42. Vancouver Marathon

Vancouver, Canada, 11.05.2017.

After having done my first marathon last Saturday, I finally found a bit of time to write this blog entry now and tell you a little about my run. First of all, I have to admit that it was a great experience and that it was quite a bit different than running a half marathon. But let’s start at the beginning, shall we?

On Saturday, I rented a hotel room in Vancouver for two reasons: I wanted to be close to the start and the finish line of the marathon and I needed a good place to park my car for a longer time without having to pay ridiculous fees. Also, I still needed to pick up my race package on Saturday so I had to go to the Convention Centre in downtown anyway. After having picked up my package, I decided to see some stand-up comedy at the YukYuks in the evening and as usual, it was a very entertaining show. On Sunday morning, the marathon started at 08:30 AM and the weather was beautiful. The sun was out all day but it was not too hot and the fresh breezes along the way were very welcome to cool down the runners. I really enjoyed the very scenic run and the amazing views on the course. And it was also very helpful that the course itself did not have a difficult altitude profile at all. There were only two minor hills on the course and they were absolutely doable. So in the end, my finish time was pretty good and also a lot better than I had hoped for initially. However, the most amazing thing to me was the fact that I managed to run a quite steady pace throughout the marathon. My time for the first 21.1 Km was 1:40 whereas my time for the second 21.1 Km was only marginally worse at 1:47 Km. When I passed the 21.1 Km- mark, I was a little bit shocked about my time because this time is pretty close to my best half marathon time. So I expected myself to be a lot slower during the second half of the marathon as I had already invested a lot of my energy at that point. Interestingly, this did not happen and I was also able to run the second half relatively smoothly. Overall, I have to say that I really enjoyed running the marathon and it was an aweseome experience.

2015.Maps_.MARATHON.
Course and altitude profile. My judgement: relatively easy and uncomplicated.
Times
My times during the run. With place 378 out of 4695 runners, I am in the top 10! 🙂
BMO-Mascot
Found a cute mascot at the finish line…

So how did/do I feel after the marathon? Interestingly, I was and I am doing pretty okay. I had a few cramps in my leg muscles but nothing serious. My feet were really good on Sunday and I had no issues at all. No open blisters, no bleeding spots, nothing. Then, on Monday evening I realized that there were 3 unopened blisters on my toes. I opened all of them and the two blisters on my large toes did hurt quite a bit but they were not the main issue. It was more annoying that I lost my nail on my little toe (right foot) due to the blood blister that had emerged under it. Also, this is the only part of my body that still hurts because of the marathon. But today, it is already a lot better so I can’t really complain. Overall, I had no major issues during or after the marathon so I am very happy that my worst fears did not come true. That being said, I am already planning for the next marathons this year and I am really looking forward to doing some more. I have not yet finally decided on it but I will MAYBE drive up to Red Deer next week and do the marathon over there on the 21st. So tempted to do it but I don’t really know if it is a good idea… Ultimately, it is my goal to run the Canadian Death Race next year and I will have to train very hard to be able to do that. So I may as well keep pushing myself a little more, I guess.

A week prior to the marathon, I went hiking at the nearby Buntzen Lake and this was also a very nice experience. I was hiking together with some very nice people and we had a lot of fun and interesting conversations while we were hiking around the lake. Unfortunately, one of the main trails around the lake was closed for maintenance so we had to take parallel but less scenic trail. Still, the views were quite nice and we had a great time.

Buntzen-Map
Buntzen Lake’s trail system.
Buntzen-3
View from the start of the hike.
Buntzen-1
View from the turning point of the hike.
Buntzen-2
Waterfall in the backcountry of Buntzen Lake.

This saturday, we will go hiking again, but not at Buntzen Lake. Instead, we will drive to Lynn Valley and hike one of the trails over there. Probably the Lynn Canyon one but we have not yet decided on that.

And what am I doing apart from the running and hiking? Well, I am still climbing regulary and I really enjoy that as well. As a preparation for my first outdoor climbing trip, I will take a lead belay course on May 27th so that I will be able/allowed to climb the more tricky routes after that. After that, Gordon and I will probably start planning trips to Squamish and/or Lake Louise to do some outdoor climbing over there. Exciting developments. 🙂 However, with all the sport activities in my life, there is not much time left for my other passion: the gaming. But I guess that is okay because you simply can’t have everything in life, can you???

Let me share two more nice pictures with you before I will conclude this blog’s entry with the ususal music advice:

Deep-Cove-Coast
Coastal area behind Cates Park. So nice to run here, especially in the sun.
Cherry-Blossom
Cherry blossom in Vancouver. Yes, I know, there are more impressive displays of this 😉 ….

The following song is one of the motivational pieces that kept pushing me forward during the marathon. In a nutshell, it is about being “on fire” and reaching out to the great goals in life. It fits my current feeling here in Canada quite well and it really kept me going when I running last Sunday. Hope you enjoy it:

Böhse Onkelz – Flammen

Author: Ralf

Passionate Canada -Visitor and -Lover. Ex- Army Officer and Retail Manager. Long distance runner, climber, hiker, fan of all kinds of games and animal friend. Loves music but has a weird taste: British Metal, German Gangsta-Rap and most Rock/Punk- music.

Leave a Reply

