25. Job Perspectives in Canada 2017

Arrochar, Scotland, 26.10.2016.

When telling people about my plan to go to Canada next year, one of the first questions they ask is usually: “Do you already have a job over there?”. Well, I do agree that having a job is very important in life but no, I don’t have a job yet in Canada. Am I concerned about that? No, actually I am not. Should I be? No, I don’t think so. There are several reasons why I am quite relaxed about that: Firstly, I am well qualified and I think it is not too hard to get a proper job quickly if I really wish to get one. Secondly, I am doing a Work&Travel year and that means I also want to travel and not only work. Why not start with the travel-part of the year and see what comes my way while travelling? And thirdly, I was able to save a bit of money in the last two years so there is no great pressure on me to start working right away.

Well, to be honest, this is just one part of the truth. Everybody who knows me a little will probably suspect that I have already done some research and planning concerning job opportunities. Very true, indeed. Although I do not have a job yet, I have already spent some time thinking about the topic and making up my mind what I could do in Canada and what I also WANT to do there. Let’s take a look at my thoughts while also enjoying some impressions of my current holiday in Scotland:

20161019_121330
19.10.2016: On top of the Sgurr na Banachdaich, 965m with view on other mountains of the Cuillin.
20161019_121246
19.10.2016: View on the Isle of Soay (left), Isle of Rum (middle) and Isle of Canna (right), southwest of the pinnacle.
20161020_101129
20.10.2016: Old Man of Storr on the Isle of Skye.
20161020_131815
20.10.2016: Quiraing- area, Isle of Skye, view to the east.
20161021_110724
21.10.2016: The picturesque little village of Plockton near the Isle of Skye.
  1. In the last 26 months, I have been working in the retail business as an area manager, managing multiple stores of a renowned supermarket chain. Although I really enjoyed many aspects of the job, I now feel that I want to do something different. This does not mean that I would categorically rule out working again in the retail business but just now I am looking for something that leaves me a bit more time for myself and that also involves working outdoors.
  2. My first thought was to start working as a Park Ranger in one of the National- or Provincial Parks. In some aspects, this job is pretty similar to what I have already done in my time in the military. Beeing outdoors, getting in contact with visitors and preserving wildlife sounds like a good thing to do to me. However, there are quite a few qualifications you need for the job. First Aid certificate, Completion of Law and Administration course and possession of firearm license for example. Nothing impossible to get but definitely qualifications I do not yet have but which I would have to acquire in Canada. This should be doable for me in between January and April next year but I do not know if this would be okay for my future employer. The job positions for Park Rangers open up in early December so you need to start applying for these jobs exactly then. In early December, I can only send an application to my future employer saying that I do not yet posess most of the qualifications needed for the job but that I am willing to acquire them once I arrive in Canada. Now, I have not worked in HR much but when I got job applications while working as an area manager, I nearly always discarded incomplete applications. I think this is just natural. Why should any HR boss consider imcomplete applications if he also has complete applications of well qualified applicants on the desk? Time is limited and at first glance it is more likely anyway that someone who handed in a complete application will be more qualified than someone who could not do that. That is why I am a bit sceptic about my chances of getting this job. As of now, I have not  decided if I will apply for a job as a Park Ranger or not. Probably, I will make up my mind about that sometime in November.
  3. While watching TV in September, I saw a CEO of a small german company doing a pitch in front of a bunch of investors in a popular German TV-show. He did not get the support from the investors but his story caught my attention. His company has designed an app that makes the management of lumber in the forestry industry a lot easier than it is now. This idea alone is already good but it was his statement that he now wants to expand to the Canadian market that really made me listen up. I then contacted him because I thought we could very well work together and I could be a good addition to his company. Now I have not yet signed any contract but we will continue talking in November and I really hope that we can work together. However, as we do not yet know anything about the Canadian market and its characteristics, this endeavour could very well be doomed from the start. If the Canadians have other ways to measure the amount of logged lumber than we do over here in Europe, there may not be any need for the company’s app and thus there will be no sales potential. But if the Canadian forestry industry has a use for the company’s app, I would be delighted to sell it to them and teach them how to use it. In any case, the forestry industry seems to be a very interesing business and I am already eager to learn all the necessary things about trees, growth rates, forests and so on. The most important upside of this job would be that I could organize myself and work mostly independently which I like very much. It would also be a great challenge to develop an unknown market in an unknown industry in a foreign country. Not easy, yes, but with my background, I think that I have a good chance to succeed. Thus, my hope is that the company’s CEO will contact me in November and we can start talking about the details of this endeavour.
  4. In case I can’t take any of the above options, I still have some half-baked work-related ideas what I could do otherwise while I am in Canada. But for now, I will focus on either becoming a Park Ranger or selling forestry apps for the small German company. We will see what happens…
20161021_115206
21.10.2016: Eilean Donan Castle, on the way between Portree and Duror.
20161021_151910
Cloud reflections on a lake.
20161022_091832
22.10.2016: Buachaille Etive Mor (1022m. left) in clouds before we climbed it.
20161022_103457
22.10.2016: View on the second pinnacle of the mountain massif while not in clouds.
20161022_124923
22.10.2016: View on third pinnacle of the mountain massif.
20161022_124937
22.10.2016: View from the top of Etive Mor through a rare hole in the clouds.

As usual, the blog entry concludes with a music advice. This time, it is a good piece of alternative rock, performed by an American Band. Enjoy.

Hoobastank – Just One

Author: Ralf

Passionate Canada -Visitor and -Lover. Ex- Army Officer and Retail Manager. Long distance runner, climber, hiker, fan of all kinds of games and animal friend. Loves music but has a weird taste: British Metal, German Gangsta-Rap and most Rock/Punk- music.

Leave a Reply

